Mr. Mxyzptlk Trickster

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Mr. Mxyzptlk Trickster

Postby zacgree » Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:32 pm

Mr. Mxyzptlk Trickster's ability states:
While Mr. Mxyzptlk is active, at the beginning of your turn, target character die becomes a copy of another target character die. (The copy has all of the names, subtitles, affiliations, abilities, and stats of the original in place of its own card information.)

Does the copy go back to the original character card at the end of the turn, or does the copy stay copied while Mr. Mxyzptlk is active?
If it does stay while active, then does it go back the next turn when a new target is copied?
zacgree
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:52 pm

Re: Mr. Mxyzptlk Trickster

Postby dmrulesteam » Fri Mar 25, 2016 2:54 pm

zacgree wrote:Mr. Mxyzptlk Trickster's ability states:
While Mr. Mxyzptlk is active, at the beginning of your turn, target character die becomes a copy of another target character die. (The copy has all of the names, subtitles, affiliations, abilities, and stats of the original in place of its own card information.)

Does the copy go back to the original character card at the end of the turn, or does the copy stay copied while Mr. Mxyzptlk is active?
If it does stay while active, then does it go back the next turn when a new target is copied?


There are two ways that Dice Masters players might interpret this scenario, and conveniently both of them should lead to the same (and correct) conclusion.

First, as stated in the rulebook, all effects last until the end of the active player's turn unless otherwise stated (if you're using the World's Finest rulebook, see page 20 under Powers, Abilities, and Card Text). Mr. Mxyzptlk must be active at the beginning of a player's turn to make the necessary selection, but the remainder of the ability only lasts until the end of that turn because the card does not specify a duration for that portion ability. In short: the die remains a copy only until the end of that turn.

Second, if you were uncertain you should refer back to the Rule of Reasonableness listed here: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=8510
Your uncertainty should lead you to the weaker interpretation of Mr. Mxyzptlk, meaning that his effect would not persist beyond the end of the turn.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php