Casey Jones - Pain 101

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Casey Jones - Pain 101

Postby dctrdevice » Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:20 pm

Does Casey Jones - Pain 101 work when blocking anyone or only when blocking a sidekick or TMNT villain? The printed wording is:
If your life total is less than 15, and Casey Jones blocks or is blocked by a sidekick or (TMNT Villain), gain 1 life.


If the card were reworded along the lines of the following, which would be correct:
If your life total is less than 15 and Casey Jones does one of the following:
  • Blocks
  • Is blocked by a sidekick or (TMNT Villain)
Gain 1 life

OR
If your life total is less than 15 and Casey Jones does one of the following:
  • Blocks a sidekick or (TMNT Villain)
  • Is blocked by a sidekick or (TMNT Villain)
Gain 1 life


I'm new to Dice Masters, so it could be there's an established precedent for this kind of wording ambiguity that I'm missing. If that's the case, I apologize for my lack of knowledge and would appreciate being pointed to wherever that may be.
dctrdevice
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:12 pm

Re: Casey Jones - Pain 101

Postby dmrulesteam » Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:16 am

dctrdevice wrote:Does Casey Jones - Pain 101 work when blocking anyone or only when blocking a sidekick or TMNT villain? The printed wording is:
If your life total is less than 15, and Casey Jones blocks or is blocked by a sidekick or (TMNT Villain), gain 1 life.


If the card were reworded along the lines of the following, which would be correct:
If your life total is less than 15 and Casey Jones does one of the following:
  • Blocks
  • Is blocked by a sidekick or (TMNT Villain)
Gain 1 life

OR
If your life total is less than 15 and Casey Jones does one of the following:
  • Blocks a sidekick or (TMNT Villain)
  • Is blocked by a sidekick or (TMNT Villain)
Gain 1 life


I'm new to Dice Masters, so it could be there's an established precedent for this kind of wording ambiguity that I'm missing. If that's the case, I apologize for my lack of knowledge and would appreciate being pointed to wherever that may be.


As a new player, welcome to Dice Masters!

The second interpretation is correct. One way to reach this conclusion would be a suggestion from this post: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=8510
When in doubt, choose the weaker option.

Mousers: Rat Eradicator works in the same way. As another example, Guy Gardner: Heated works similarly too, but has different wording as it is an older card:

Guy Gardner also counts as [Green Lantern]. Guy Gardner gets +5A and +5D when engaged with a [Black Lantern] character die.


-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 14 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php