General Rulings - 9/30/2015

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

General Rulings - 9/30/2015

Postby dmrulesteam » Wed Sep 30, 2015 1:59 pm

Hi Dice Masters Fans!

We've gotten a number of questions about the below and wanted to clarify how some interactions work and the reasons why.

How does redirecting costs work?
You cannot redirect costs. Under Fundamental Rules in the rulebook, it states:
“You cannot avoid paying costs. For example, if the cost of something is spinning a die down one level, and all you have are level 1 characters that can’t be spun down you can’t pay that cost.”
For example, you couldn’t use Blue Eyes White Dragon: Monstrous Dragon’s Global Ability in conjunction with Wonder Girl: Cassie Sandsmark. KOing your own character for Blue Eyes White Dragon is a cost to you, you cannot avoid paying it. To further clarify this, future rulebooks will include:
When doing something in isolation would typically be detrimental to the player using it, it is a cost.

How do Global Abilities that require something else to happen work?
Cards like War Machine: Combat Comrade and Mera: Queen of Atlantis can only have their Global Abilities used once for each time the effect would apply. So a single Shield character die could attack for 6 damage, go unblocked, and have both Mera and War Machine’s Global Abilities used on it (each once). If two 6A Shield character dice attacked (unblocked) each Global Ability could be used twice. These effects are paid for at the appropriate time, not before.
The rulebook says the following, which applies here:
“Players are allowed to use Global Abilities that react to events at the appropriate time (for example, a Global Ability that allows you to redirect damage when one of your characters takes damage).”

How does ignoring text/abilities work when action dice add abilities to characters and their dice?
Treat additional abilities from action dice as abilities on those characters. Those abilities can be ignored, prevented, and modified as if they were character abilities. If an effect would give a character die +2A and Overcrush, but that character die’s abilities are being ignored, it couldn’t use Overcrush but would still get +2A. The attack bonus isn’t an ability.
Future rulebooks will define Ability Damage as follows:
“Ability Damage: Damage from a character that isn’t combat damage.”
For example, Magneto: Magnetic Monster ignores Lantern Ring’s effect on character dice with Purchase Cost 3 or lower. For another example, Human Paladin’s Global Ability could reduce the damage from character dice benefitting from Lantern Ring.
Magneto: Magnetic Monster
“Zombie - when fielded, KO all non-[Zombie] Magnetos.
While active, opposing characters with Purchase Cost 3 or lower lose their abilities. Professor X can't be fielded.”
Lantern Ring: Limited Only By Imagination
“Continuous: While active, when your characters attack, they deal 1 damage to target player for each energy symbol in your Reserve Pool that matches their type.”
Human Paladin Global:
"Global: Pay [1 Shield] . Reduce the damage you take from a character's ability to 1."

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
In order to keep this thread easy to process, comments won't be approved by further clarification may be provided in a new post.
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: General Rulings - 9/30/2015

Postby dmrulesteam » Fri Apr 22, 2016 5:06 pm

dmrulesteam wrote:Hi Dice Masters Fans!

We've gotten a number of questions about the below and wanted to clarify how some interactions work and the reasons why.

How does redirecting costs work?
You cannot redirect costs. Under Fundamental Rules in the rulebook, it states:
“You cannot avoid paying costs. For example, if the cost of something is spinning a die down one level, and all you have are level 1 characters that can’t be spun down you can’t pay that cost.”
For example, you couldn’t use Blue Eyes White Dragon: Monstrous Dragon’s Global Ability in conjunction with Wonder Girl: Cassie Sandsmark. KOing your own character for Blue Eyes White Dragon is a cost to you, you cannot avoid paying it. To further clarify this, future rulebooks will include:
When doing something in isolation would typically be detrimental to the player using it, it is a cost.

How do Global Abilities that require something else to happen work?
Cards like War Machine: Combat Comrade and Mera: Queen of Atlantis can only have their Global Abilities used once for each time the effect would apply. So a single Shield character die could attack for 6 damage, go unblocked, and have both Mera and War Machine’s Global Abilities used on it (each once). If two 6A Shield character dice attacked (unblocked) each Global Ability could be used twice. These effects are paid for at the appropriate time, not before.
The rulebook says the following, which applies here:
“Players are allowed to use Global Abilities that react to events at the appropriate time (for example, a Global Ability that allows you to redirect damage when one of your characters takes damage).”

How does ignoring text/abilities work when action dice add abilities to characters and their dice?
Treat additional abilities from action dice as abilities on those characters. Those abilities can be ignored, prevented, and modified as if they were character abilities. If an effect would give a character die +2A and Overcrush, but that character die’s abilities are being ignored, it couldn’t use Overcrush but would still get +2A. The attack bonus isn’t an ability.
Future rulebooks will define Ability Damage as follows:
“Ability Damage: Damage from a character that isn’t combat damage.”
For example, Magneto: Magnetic Monster ignores Lantern Ring’s effect on character dice with Purchase Cost 3 or lower. For another example, Human Paladin’s Global Ability could reduce the damage from character dice benefitting from Lantern Ring.
Magneto: Magnetic Monster
“Zombie - when fielded, KO all non-[Zombie] Magnetos.
While active, opposing characters with Purchase Cost 3 or lower lose their abilities. Professor X can't be fielded.”
Lantern Ring: Limited Only By Imagination
“Continuous: While active, when your characters attack, they deal 1 damage to target player for each energy symbol in your Reserve Pool that matches their type.”
Human Paladin Global:
"Global: Pay [1 Shield] . Reduce the damage you take from a character's ability to 1."

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
In order to keep this thread easy to process, comments won't be approved by further clarification may be provided in a new post.


The prior ruling as to the ignoring of character abilities added by other dice is overturned. While abilities granted by dice such as Lantern Ring are character abilities for purposes of damage reduction, game effects that would have players ignore text or abilities, such as Magneto, do not remove these added abilities. In other words, while Human Paladin would reduce the damage associated with Lantern Ring, Magneto would not remove the abilities from characters having a purchase cost of three or less.
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php