Page 1 of 1

Hulk Anger Issues Timing Question

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 7:58 pm
by scorpion0x17
Hi,

Could you clarify the timing of Hulk Anger Issue's Ability please?

For example, consider the following scenario:

Player A has a level 1 (6/5) Hulk Anger Issues in the Field.
Player B has a level 2 (5/7) Magneto Former Comrade in the Field.

It is Player A's turn and is just about to start her Attack Step.

Player A attacks with Hulk Anger Issues, and Player B blocks with Magneto Former Comrade.

What is the outcome of this engagement (assuming neither player uses any Global Abilities)?

Does Hulk Anger Issues's Ability trigger after damage is assigned, but before it is resolved?

And, if so, does he then deal an additional 3 damage to Magneto?

Re: Hulk Anger Issues Timing Question

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 5:36 pm
by dmrulesteam
The characters would both remain fielded as a result of the attack. Hulk takes damage (which would be lethal at the time), then grows, keeping him alive. Magneto takes 6 damage, and lives. The damage is applied before Hulk grows, so he doesn’t deal the additional damage.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team

Re: Hulk Anger Issues Timing Question

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 5:46 pm
by dmrulesteam
We've received some further questions on this item.

This isn't contradictory to the FAQ ruling on other Hulks:
19)
Q: Can anything happen to a character after it deals damage but before it goes to the Used Pile? Could Hulk KO characters (with damage) who would normally be sent to the Used Pile?
A: Short answer: No. Damage resolves, damage replacement effects are applied, and any characters with lethal damage are KO’d and moved to the Prep Area at the same time as characters who were unblocked go to the Used Pile. After that, other effects are applied (such as Hulk, Green Goliath’s). Characters go to the Used Pile as soon as they deal damage, before any other effects take place. All other effects then take place.


The emphasis of FAQ item #19 above is that unblocked characters can't have an ability stop them from going to the Used Pile unless specifically stated.

The ability triggers when the damage is applied to the hulk, at that point it takes 5 damage but at the same time gains 2 or 3 defense and 2 or 3 attack. Since it has already assigned attack damage, the additional attack does nothing, but the defense bonus will save it. Prior to the damage being applied, it could have been prevented or redirected, resulting in no damage to the Hulk and no stat changes.

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php