Hulk Anger Issues Timing Question

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Hulk Anger Issues Timing Question

Postby scorpion0x17 » Fri Oct 24, 2014 7:58 pm

Hi,

Could you clarify the timing of Hulk Anger Issue's Ability please?

For example, consider the following scenario:

Player A has a level 1 (6/5) Hulk Anger Issues in the Field.
Player B has a level 2 (5/7) Magneto Former Comrade in the Field.

It is Player A's turn and is just about to start her Attack Step.

Player A attacks with Hulk Anger Issues, and Player B blocks with Magneto Former Comrade.

What is the outcome of this engagement (assuming neither player uses any Global Abilities)?

Does Hulk Anger Issues's Ability trigger after damage is assigned, but before it is resolved?

And, if so, does he then deal an additional 3 damage to Magneto?
scorpion0x17
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 7:51 pm

Re: Hulk Anger Issues Timing Question

Postby dmrulesteam » Wed Nov 05, 2014 5:36 pm

The characters would both remain fielded as a result of the attack. Hulk takes damage (which would be lethal at the time), then grows, keeping him alive. Magneto takes 6 damage, and lives. The damage is applied before Hulk grows, so he doesn’t deal the additional damage.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Hulk Anger Issues Timing Question

Postby dmrulesteam » Fri Nov 07, 2014 5:46 pm

We've received some further questions on this item.

This isn't contradictory to the FAQ ruling on other Hulks:
19)
Q: Can anything happen to a character after it deals damage but before it goes to the Used Pile? Could Hulk KO characters (with damage) who would normally be sent to the Used Pile?
A: Short answer: No. Damage resolves, damage replacement effects are applied, and any characters with lethal damage are KO’d and moved to the Prep Area at the same time as characters who were unblocked go to the Used Pile. After that, other effects are applied (such as Hulk, Green Goliath’s). Characters go to the Used Pile as soon as they deal damage, before any other effects take place. All other effects then take place.


The emphasis of FAQ item #19 above is that unblocked characters can't have an ability stop them from going to the Used Pile unless specifically stated.

The ability triggers when the damage is applied to the hulk, at that point it takes 5 damage but at the same time gains 2 or 3 defense and 2 or 3 attack. Since it has already assigned attack damage, the additional attack does nothing, but the defense bonus will save it. Prior to the damage being applied, it could have been prevented or redirected, resulting in no damage to the Hulk and no stat changes.
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests

cron
Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php